GSOC Weekly Blog Entry (2009-08-17)

Today was the “firm pencils down” date for GSOC and I “released” a “beta” version of the HTML Form Entry Designer. You can try it here: http://lab10.openmrs.org:8080/openmrs/module/htmlformentrydesigner/designerHome.form

User: admin
Pass: test

If you “follow” the video in the previous entry you should have no problem understanding how to use it.

This is a beta version, so a few bugs are to be expected. Also, tinymce can be quite weird sometimes 😦

This is what I did this week:

  • Added Coded and Datetime concepts (all observations treated by htmlformentry are now functional!)
  • The Encounter Provider now shows a list of the roles in the database
  • Tinymce uses the release version instead of the development version (as well as the visualxml plugin), meaning the speed should be quite improved.

It sounds too little (especially compared with last week), but I had to learn how to use controllers to connect to the database, as well as dwelve into some of the openmrs code, so I’ve spent some time doing it. I’m glad I did it because my understanding was quite lacking in that department.

Now that GSOC is over (the code period at least), I mean to continue with the development of htmlformentrydesigner. For the few days I’ll try to write documentation for the module (how to use it, identify bugs, features to implement, limitations, etc), so that other users can use it and other developers can help with it. After next week I’m taking a vacancy from the computer (until the end of August), and I should restart development with it (well, September and October are very demanding months for me, but I’ll try to help whenever I have free time.

Also, next week I’ll write a balance of GSOC (it’s definitely positive!)

Leave a comment